Skip to main content

2015 NLUF Awards


Principal Investigator


Project Title

R. Paul Drake

Univ. of Michigan

Experimental Astrophysics on the Omega Laser

T. Duffy

Princeton Univ.

Dynamic Compression of Earth and Planetary Materials using the Omega Laser

E. P. Liang

William Marsh Rice Univ.

Creation of Magnetized Jet Using a Hollow Ring of Laser Beams

P. Hartigan

William Marsh Rice Univ.

Magnetized Accretion Shocks and Magnetospheres in the Laboratory

L. Willingale

Univ. of Michigan

High-energy Electron Beam Acceleration from Underdense Plasma using Omega EP

D. Q. Lamb

Univ. of Chicago

Non-Linear Amplification of Magnetic Fields in Laser-Produced Plasmas

A. Spitkovsky

Princeton Univ.

Generation of Collisionless Shocks in Laser-Produced Plasmas

R. D. Petrasso

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Explorations of Inertial-Confinement Fusion, High-Energy-Density Physics, and Laboratory Astrophysics

K. Krushelnick

Univ. of Michigan

X-ray Measurements of Laser-Driven Relativistic Magnetic Reconnection using OMEGA EP

F. Beg

Univ. California, San Diego

Fast Electron Energy Coupling and Transport in Warm Dense Plasmas

R. Jeanloz

Univ. California, Berkeley

Exploring the Quantum Mechanics of Dense Matter

M. Wei

General Atomics

Hot Electron Scaling in Long Pulse Laser Plasma Interaction Relevant to Shock Ignition

A. Bhattacharjee

Princeton Univ.

Dynamics of Magnetic Reconnection and Instabilities of Current Sheets in High-Energy-Density Plasmas