Skip to main content

You are here

CTBTO Officials Visit DOE Labs and NNSA HQ


Recently, On-Site Inspection (OSI) Division Director Oleg Rozhkov, from the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) in Vienna, Austria, visited several DOE labs that are supporting CTBTO efforts to achieve on-site inspection readiness under the treaty. On his visit to Los Alamos, Pacific Northwest and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratories, Rozhkov was joined by OSI Division Chief for Policy, Planning and Operations Gordon MacLeod and Michele Smith of NNSA’s Office of Nonproliferation and International Security. While in Washington, DC, Rozhkov met with NNSA Deputy Administrator for Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation Anne Harrington and other Administration officials.

The CTBTO monitoring and verification system, which is designed to detect any nuclear explosion conducted on Earth – underground, underwater, or in the atmosphere – includes an International Monitoring System (IMS) that will consist of 321 monitoring stations and 16 certified radionuclide laboratories, supported by an International Data Centre (IDC) in Vienna; the IMS and IDC are already providing valuable data to States Signatories on events of interest . When the Treaty enters into force, this capability will be supplemented with a robust on-site inspection capability.

To support and prepare for an upcoming on-site inspection exercise, Integrated Field Exercise 2014 (IFE14), NNSA has loaned approximately $1 million worth of inspection-related equipment from the labs and is helping to conduct training for the surrogate inspector trainees. NNSA lab experts are participating in preparations for IFE14 on various teams, including the Inspection Team, Control Team, Inspected State Party, Evaluation Team, and Scenario Development Task Force.

About the photo:
CTBTO Preparatory Commission On-Site Inspection (OSI) Division Director Oleg Rozhkov (center) discusses overview of NNSA-supported nuclear explosion monitoring activities at PNNL.  From left to right are Dr. Brian Milbrath (PNNL), Dr. Ted Bowyer (Nuclear Explosion Monitoring and Policy Program Manager at PNNL), Mr. Rozhkov, Michele Smith (Deputy Director for Warhead Dismantlement Transparency in the NNSA Office of Nonproliferation and International Security, NA-24), Gordon MacLeod (CTBTO OSI Division Chief for Policy, Planning and Operations), Dr. Harry Miley (PNNL) and Dr. Craig Aalseth (PNNL).