Skip to main content

You are here

Eight NNSA Employees Receive Presidential Rank Awards

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Department of Energy's National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) announced that eight of its federal employees have received Presidential Rank Awards. The awards are given by the President on an annual basis to recognize senior government executives for their strong leadership, accomplishments, and dedication to public service.

"The recipients of this award have established significant records of accomplishment and demonstrated exceptional leadership and dedication to duty. These awards are a tremendous honor for each of the recipients and for the NNSA. I would like to congratulate each of the award winners and to thank them for their overall contributions to U.S. national security," said NNSA Administrator Thomas D'Agostino.

NNSA's eight award winners were the recipient of the Meritorious Presidential Rank award, which is only given to five percent of the total federal career senior executive service employees each year. They were nominated by Energy Secretary Samuel W. Bodman and then carefully evaluated by boards of private citizens before being honored by the President. In addition to a certificate signed by the President, the honorees will receive an award equal to 20 percent of their basic pay.

The following is a list of NNSA's Meritorious Presidential Rank award recipients:

Established by Congress in 2000, NNSA is a separately organized agency within the U.S. Department of Energy responsible for enhancing national security through the military application of nuclear science. NNSA maintains and enhances the safety, security, reliability and performance of the U.S. nuclear weapons stockpile without nuclear testing; works to reduce global danger from weapons of mass destruction; provides the U.S. Navy with safe and effective nuclear propulsion; and responds to nuclear and radiological emergencies in the United States and abroad.

Media contact(s):
NNSA Public Affairs (202) 586-7371